>Rumours…

>

are flying thick and fast. Rumours that schools will be closed for 3 months. Rumours that a massive upheaval is expected (No surprise there).
Rumours that a war, which has spanned for decades, sacrificed countless lives and drenched our soil in blood will be over by April.

At this point no one really knows what to believe any more.

I wish.. I really do wish that people my age would start being a bit more aware on what’s happening around us. We tend to live in our own little bubble world, perfectly content as long as everything in our sphere retains its regularity.
A full-fledged war is about to break out and all that my friends are worried about is whether coffee bean will be open tomorrow.

I don’t want to live life in perpetual fear.

To have to look over my shoulder every time I go out wondering what will happen next.
To say a silent prayer every time some one I love I steps out.
To appear carefree and nonchalant but in reality shudder every time I see an unmanned parcel in the bus wondering “What if…”

It seems that I’m not the only one either. There seems to be an undercurrent of dread and apprehension everywhere.


But then again, maybe it’s just me.

7 thoughts on “>Rumours…

  1. >If you’re talking about the early/mid twenties age group, I think that avoidance is because its all we’ve ever known except for a couple of years. Bombs exploding is an accepted happening, and it could be at any time, anywhere. I’ve been in the close vicinity, just out of reach of 3 starting fom age 5. Walking faster doesnt help, neither does walking slower. At this stage what can we do other than be philosophical about that particular aspect of the situ?

  2. >”I wish.. I really do wish that people my age would start being a bit more aware on what’s happening around us.”Trust me, we do. Just that we don’t let it drag s down. Personally, I just go about life as usual, with a few adjustments to allow for the odd terrorist attack.By the way, this is the first time I saw your blog, and about half your “about me” box is full of things my friends keep calling me… Except the queen bit, of course 😉

  3. >Ravenii- I’m sorry to hear that you left. And yes, I really hope everything turns out fine.Pink Mist- No.. Walking faster doesn’t really help. 🙂 And being philosophical is a good thing. What I don’t believe is blinding yourself to reality. This is something that most people I know tend to do.The_jester- it’s good to know that people our age are vigilant. 🙂 Interesting that there are more people like me out there! Yes, the queen bit would be a bit awkward for you wouldn’t it? :p LD – Thanks!

  4. >I hope our kids won’t have to go through what we do daily. And i do think you are much aware of the world than most people your age. good on you…though it is frustrating at times.

Deposit all remarkable observations in the comment box.

