>6 yards of misery

>

A family weddings coming up, and my mums already started the search for that perfect sari. Unfortunately, since it’s a close relative, I’ve been coerced into wrapping myself in 6 yards of silk, donning a pair of heels (shudder) and making a complete ass of myself.

I actually used to enjoy popping from one store to another because the various hues and the myriad of textures from chiffon to georgette to heavy raw silk are riveting and absolutely beautiful to look at. It’s easy to get lost in the sea of silk and sequins as the salesmen pull out one sari after another in-between their sales banter.

But when you’re buying a sari for yourself and your extremely selective mother, it’s a whole new ball game. You’re acutely aware of every sequin and every embroidered border and the fact that you’ll be forking out a huge chunk of cash for the said sari.

The problem with shopping with my mum, is that we tend to clash. A lot. Our ideas of style are completely dissimilar and our taste in colours are poles apart, so it’s really no surprise that we barely make it out of any sari shop without a mini show down. I’ve seen salesmen visibly shudder when we walk into their outlets sometimes.

Today’s sari sojourn made me feel a bit like Rip Van Winkle. Dear god, when did sari’s become so expensive? Or is it that we’re just looking in all the wrong places. A simple printed one with a few sequins strewn on it was priced at 28,000. The salesmen were spouting prices like 34,000 and 45,000 without batting an eyelid for the simplest of sari’s. How, I ask you, how can you spend so much on an outfit which you’ll probably wear twice at the most and sleep comfortably at night?

I’m extremely picky, but surprisingly I found – nay, fell in love with – one which was absolutely perfect. I stood there for a few minutes, petting it lovingly because I was too scared to drape it on myself. If we’d stayed there longer I would probably have started crooning lullabies.

But then…. then I saw the price. I heaved a sigh. And got out of the place as fast as I could. It was one of those exorbitant amounts which would have made me die a little every time I looked at it.

So, now it’s back to periodic sari shopping cum drama with my mother in-between slumming up my education.

Oh well. Vut to do.
18 thoughts on “>6 yards of misery

  1. >ahaha.. “34,000 and 45,000 without batting an eyelid for the simplest of sari’s” – easy for em.. cos they have to sell em dont they?? hehehe.. let us know if you end up picking one??

  2. >This reminded me of how much I hate sari shopping. Now, when I see a sari that I really like, I buy it whether I have a place to wear it to or not so that I don’t have to suffer through trips like yours when the need arises. But of course it’s easy for me cos the only sarees I wear are lightweight printed sarees which are cheap and funky, cheap being the major factor lol.

  3. >sarees are stupidly expensive, aren’t they? try the shop in the basement of the orchard building – the one on the right when you enter opposite savoy. they have really nice sarees for less than 5000 bucks (which in my books is still a lot to pay for a saree).somehow, i’ve always managed to find nice ones for less than 3500 every time, though it has always been at the last moment, no matter how early i start looking.good luck. post a pic of what you get 🙂

  4. >aaah.. yes the ‘sari’… every woman’s worst nightmare.. well, almost.. yea i went with mom once (god knows why…!) and i couldnt bel the prices i was hearing.. and while i was still reeling from all da numbers, mom goes and asks ME for an opinion…!! ME?! huh?! yea, tat was traumatic.. lol…oh… ahem… no no, im sure u will look sooo pretty…shaa… 😛

  5. >You’re mistaken young lady, I think you were looking in the “Flying Carpet” Section of the store.We would flay any salesman trying to sell conventional sarees for such amounts.Sorry for the confusion,The Manager.Also, my sister got her first saree last month too. For a wedding.

  6. >love the saris. hate the price.Love the shopping part. hate the price.oh well – put up a pic, im sure you’ll find a pretty one.

  7. >Ha ha Jerry good one.But seriously, women look really good in sarees.BTW I’ve never thought sequins go on sarees, I thought they should be pure silk or cotton for everyday wear.

  8. >jesus christ! imagine the shoes you could buy for that price! i hate sari shopping passionately, im so damn picky. ive only ever been twice, back in the sari party days. now i just go straight to my aunt who has like 40 billion. didnt you get a picture of the one you fell in love with?

  9. >ironically, one of the most ridiculously priced stores in town- Romafour- has some decent saris at decent prices. Check it out. I figure you’re not looking for the spectacularly bejeweled type given your taste for simplicity, and they have some nice stuff in the 5-10k range. But you have to hassle the sales guy a bit. On the other hand, it’s amazing what you can do with a plain, self coloured chiffon from pettah (will set you back 5k at most) and a heavily worked jacket. (which are actually those skimpy little stringy sequinned party tops that attention seekers with impossible stomachs wear at clubs. An entirely different thing when you pair with the 6 yards )Good luck! OH… AND IF YOU NEED HEELS, I JUST HAPPEN TO SUDDENLY HAVE FIVE PAIRS IN YOUR SIZE. You know how.

  10. >lost soul, hehe. will do. :)sach, wish i’d done what you do. my mums been at me forever now for not buying any sari’s on our trip to india. :Sindyana, unfortunately, yes. :(PP, thanks a lot for the tip! was wondering where else to go sari shopping. will def post a pic. :)dili, i wouldn’t! but evidently other people would, or it wouldn’t be priced so high.sachintha, meh. don’t get me started on ‘those men’!gehan, i can see that you’ve been terribly scarred from your horrifying experience. :Pjerry, of course i was! how stupid of me! i can always rely on you to put things in perspective. idiot. :Pblackexists, i love sari’s.. as long as i’m not in ’em!JP, yeah.. i remember your women in sari fetish. 🙂 sequins do go on sari’s usuallu and look pretty good as long as they’re sewed on tastefully. TSC, uhoh. good luck!T, i wanted to borrow as well.. but all my aunts have such appalling taste. all their sari’s are far too gaudy. i was so taken aback by the price that i got a bad case of camera shake while taking the pic. sigh.makuluwo, 🙂 good to hear that i’m not alone. DQ, are you serious? i refused to cite odel and romafour because i thought they’d be even more expensive. will def check romafour out. if all else fails, you’ll probably find me at pettah. heh.. and i DO need heels! i’ll be in touch! lol. thanks. 🙂

  11. >Lol! where on earth did you go to look for sari’s? Try out Ayathi on Park road, they have quite a variety and your looking at about 20k downwards or even Rithihi on Alfred Housed gardens.Im not entirely sure what your taste is but I love wearing Kanchi Silks where a little investment doesnt sound too bad because your guaranteed they will never go out of fashion. 🙂

  12. >Hahaha I read this entirely and have to say this is aninteresting blog. Lol… I'm a saree fanaticand even though I do not know how to wear it properly I keep on buying sarees. I totally agree with the reader who said romafour has a collection that is not ridiculously priced. I was also surprised abt it. And the best thing is they sometimes have those party/clubbing tops that u can wear nicely with a saree. My sis got a sequined tubeTop to match with her saree and I got a lovely black corset to match exactly with my saree. They were cheap and in good quality (i've bought the same brand in US.Odel didn't have a good collection and I don't really trust their prices. Unlike those says now odel has gaudy clothes also but very high priced. Sequined sarees are all 10 and up I believe and u get silk ones for like 7-8k but they r cheaper elsewhere. Borrowing doesn't work for me as I'm like an XS therefore jacket problem occures.. Try the orchard building. I've heard good and bad reviews abt ayathi and praneeta fashions near thurstan. 🙂 good luck with the hunting.

  13. >Hahaha I read this entirely and have to say this is aninteresting blog. Lol… I'm a saree fanaticand even though I do not know how to wear it properly I keep on buying sarees. I totally agree with the reader who said romafour has a collection that is not ridiculously priced. I was also surprised abt it. And the best thing is they sometimes have those party/clubbing tops that u can wear nicely with a saree. My sis got a sequined tubeTop to match with her saree and I got a lovely black corset to match exactly with my saree. They were cheap and in good quality (i've bought the same brand in US.Odel didn't have a good collection and I don't really trust their prices. Unlike those says now odel has gaudy clothes also but very high priced. Sequined sarees are all 10 and up I believe and u get silk ones for like 7-8k but they r cheaper elsewhere. Borrowing doesn't work for me as I'm like an XS therefore jacket problem occures.. Try the orchard building. I've heard good and bad reviews abt ayathi and praneeta fashions near thurstan. 🙂 good luck with the hunting.

Deposit all remarkable observations in the comment box.

