Day 5: A poem which reminds you of someone

I’m going to cheat a bit on this one. I have two poems which remind me of two very different people and I couldn’t choose between both.

Dilemma

I want to be
famous
so I can be
humble
about being
famous.

What good is my
humility
when I am
stuck
in this
obscurity?

– David Budbill

*

I’m Really Very Fond

I’m really very fond of you,

he said.

I don’t like fond.
It sounds like something
you would tell a dog.
Give me love,
or nothing.

Throw your fond in a pond,
I said.
But what I felt for him
was also warm, frisky,
moist-mouthed,
eager,
and could swim away

if forced to do so.

— Alice Walker

4 thoughts on “Day 5: A poem which reminds you of someone

Deposit all remarkable observations in the comment box.

