Day 8: A poem that you know by heart

I’m horrible at memorizing stuff. I was every elocution teacher’s worst nightmare. I’d start off reciting a poem beautifully, then lose track a little before the end and then to top it all off, I’d make up my own lines as I went along.  My short-lived elocution stint even puts my brief fling with music lessons to shame (I still remember Mrs. N, my music teacher once groaning “Child! You’re playing the PIANO. You’re NOT thumping flour!” at me in abject despair)

So, there are very few poems I know, by heart. This is one of them. I really had no need to memorize it for academic purposes or anything. It’s one of those poems that grow on you over time, until you realize that you’ve committed it to memory unconsciously.

The best kind of poetry, really.

Fire and Ice

Some say the world will end in fire,

Some say in ice.

From what I’ve tasted of desire

I hold with those who favor fire.

But if it had to perish twice,

I think I know enough of hate

To say that for destruction ice

Is also great

And would suffice.

Robert Frost


Ps: Also, this.  🙂

A Silly Poem

Said Hamlet to Ophelia,

I’ll draw a sketch of thee,

What kind of pencil shall I use?

2B or not 2B?

Spike Milligan

5 thoughts on “Day 8: A poem that you know by heart

  1. The silly poem is oh so facepalm-y 😛
    I’ve a poem that I seem to have memorised for no apparent reason. It’s called Colonel Fazackerley but I don’t recall the poet who wrote it.

    The first verse goes like this-

    Colonel Fazackerley Butterworth- Toast
    Bought an old castle complete with a ghost
    But someone or other forgot to declare
    To Colonel Fazack that a spectre was there

    It’s really funny but it’s also quite insightful when you really think about it.

Deposit all remarkable observations in the comment box.

